Malaysia public and school holidays 2012

|  0 comments

Below are the calendar for Malaysia School Holidays & Public Holidays for year 2012 (Kalendar Cuti Umum & Cuti Sekolah Tahun 2012).

For a foreigner, holidays and weekends in Malaysia can be somewhat confusing, due to:

  • Certain holidays are national holidays and are observed nationwide while others apply only to certain states.
  • Weekends and school holidays also are different (shifted) for the conservatively Muslim states of Kelantan, Terengganu and Kedah as compared with the other states of Malaysia. Their weekends fall on Fridays and Saturdays instead of Saturdays and Sundays for the rests of the states.
  • Another factor is that while some holidays have fixed dates, there are others that vary on yearly basis and are not fixed. This is due to their religious or cultural background and by which of the Muslim, Indian or Chinese calendars is being used.

Click for the schedule of Malaysia school holidays below.

 

Malaysian National & State Holidays 2012 / Cuti Umum Malaysia 2012

Dates

Days

Occasion

Applies to

1 January Sunday New Year’s Day All states except Johor, Kedah, Kelantan, Perlis & Terengganu
14 January Saturday

Birthday of Yang di-Pertuan Besar Negeri Sembilan

Negeri Sembilan only
15 January Sunday Birthday of Sultan Kedah Kedah only
23 January Monday Chinese New Year Nationwide
24 January Tuesday Chinese New Year (2nd Day) All states except Kelantan and Terengganu
1 February Wednesday Federal Territory Day Federal Territory of Kuala Lumpur, Labuan & Putrajaya only
5 February Sunday Birthday of Prophet Muhammad (Maulidur Rasul) Nationwide
7 February Tuesday Thaipusam Kuala Lumpur, Putrajaya, Johor, Negeri Sembilan, Perak, Penang & Selangor only
4 March Sunday Anniversary of Installation
of Sultan Terengganu
Terengganu only
6 April Friday Good Friday Sabah & Sarawak only
15 April Sunday Declaration of Malacca as
a Historical City
Malacca only
19 April Thursday Birthday of Sultan Perak Perak only
1 May Tuesday Labour Day Nationwide
5 May Saturday Wesak Day Nationwide
7 May Monday Hol Day of  Pahang Pahang only
17 May Thursday Birthday of Raja Perlis Perlis only
30 & 31 May Wed & Thu Harvest Festival
Pesta Kaamatan Sabah
Sabah & Labuan only
1 - 2 June Fri & Sat Sarawak Harvest Festival
Hari Gawai Sarawak
Sarawak only
2 June Saturday

Birthday of Seri Paduka Baginda Yang di-Pertuan Agong

Nationwide
17 June Sunday Israk & Mikraj Kedah, Negeri Sembilan & Perlis only
7 July Saturday Georgetown World Heritage City Day Penang - but not a 'paid holiday' for private sectors employees.
14 July Saturday

Birthday of Yang di-Pertua Pulau Pinang

Penang only
20 July Friday Birthday of Sultan Terengganu Terengganu only
21 July Saturday Awal Ramadan
Start of Muslim fasting month (bulan Puasa)
Johor, Kedah & Malacca only
6 August Tuesday Nuzul Al-Quran Kelantan, Pahang, Perak, Perlis, Penang, Selangor & Terengganu only
19 - 20 August Sun & Mon Hari Raya Puasa * Nationwide
31 August Friday National Day Nationwide
8 September
Saturday Birthday of Yang di-Pertua Sarawak Sarawak Only
16 September Sunday Malaysia Day Nationwide (Since 2010)
6 October Saturday Birthday of Yang di-Pertua Sabah Sabah Only
13 October Saturday Birthday of Yang di-Pertua Melaka Malacca only
24 October Wednesday Birthday of Sultan Pahang Pahang only
26 October Friday Hari Raya Qurban * Nationwide
27 October Saturday Hari Raya Qurban (2nd Day) * Kedah, Kelantan, Perlis & Terengganu Only
11 & 12 November Sat & Sun Birthday of Sultan Kelantan Kelantan only
13 November Tuesday Deepavali or Diwali Nationwide
except for Sarawak and Labuan
15 November Thursday Awal Muharram (Maal Hijrah) Nationwide
22 November Thursday Birthday of Sultan Johor Johor only
11 December Tuesday Birthday of Sultan Selangor Selangor only
20 December Thursday Hol Day of Almarhum Sultan Iskandar Johor Only
25 December Tuesday Christmas Nationwide

* Subject to change - depending on the sighting of the new moon


Note that holidays falling on a weekend (Friday for the 3 states and Sunday for the rest) will generally be celebrated on the following day. Also, should two holidays coincide, an extra day may be given immediately after to make up. This rule mainly applies to National and Religious holidays. If the following day is also a holiday, then a further day will be given. The birthdays of the Sultans are in many cases fixed on a weekend so as not to disrupt work.

 

Malaysia School Holidays 2012 / Cuti Sekolah Malaysia 2012

Note: In Kelantan, Terengganu and Kedah school holidays start and end a day earlier.

Dates

Occasion

4th January 2012 School Day Starts
10 March - 18 March 2012 Mid Term Holiday I
26 May - 10 June 2012

Mid Year Holiday

18 - 26 August 2012

Mid Term Holiday II

10 November - 1 January 2013

End of Year Holiday

Post a Comment

Cancel
Click to go to top